John Lloyd Cruz, LJ Reyes win top acting honors in Gawad Urian Awards 2016

2016 Gawad Urian Awards WinnersJohn Lloyd Cruz and LJ Reyes were named Best Actor and Best Actress, respectively, during the 2016 Gawad Urian Awards Night held on June 22 at the Kia Theater in Cubao, Quezon City. Cruz won for the film Honor Thy Father, besting other nominees including John Arcilla (Heneral Luna), Ricky Davao (Dayang Asu) and Jericho Rosales (Walang Forever). He was nominated in the same category for his performance in A Second Chance.

Reyes, on the other hand, won as Best Actress for the film Anino sa Likod ng Buwan. Other contenders for the category included Nora Aunor (Taklub), Angeli Bayani (Iisa), Alessandra de Rossi (Bambanti) and Jennylyn Mercado (Walang Forever).

Jerrold Tarog was named Best Director for the film Heneral Luna while Centerstage Productions’ Taklub won as Best Picture.

Below is the complete list of winners in 2016 Gawad Urian Awards:

Best Picture

Heneral Luna – Artikulo Uno Productions
WINNER: Taklub – Centerstage Productions
Anino sa Likod ng Buwan – Octobertrain Films/IdeaFirst Company
Honor Thy Father – Reality Entertainment
Imbisibol – Sinag Maynila/Solar Entertainment
ARI: My Life with a King – Holy Angel University Center for Kapampangan Studies
Bambanti – Solar Entertainment/Centerstage Productions/Sinag Maynila
Da Dog Show – Sans Cinema, Germany/Queen B Productions

Best Director

Da Dog Show – Ralston Jover
WINNER: Heneral Luna – Jerrold Tarog
Taklub – Brilliante Mendoza
Anino sa Likod ng Buwan – Jun Lana
Honor Thy Father – Erik Matti
Imbisibol – Lawrence Fajardo
ARI: My Life with a King – Carlo Enciso Catu
Bambanti – Zig Madamba Dulay
Apocalypse Child – Mario Cornejo
Balikbayan # 1: Memories of Overdevelopment Redux III – Kidlat Tahimik

Best Actor

John Arcilla – Heneral Luna
WINNER: John Lloyd Cruz – Honor Thy Father
John Lloyd Cruz – A Second Chance
Ricky Davao – Dayang Asu
Jericho Rosales – Walang Forever
Dennis Trillo – Felix Manalo
Sid Lucero – Apocalypse Child
Jun Jun Quintana – Water Lemon
Luis Alandy – Anino sa Likod ng Buwan
Francisco Guinto – ARI: My Life with a King
Lou Veloso – Da Dog Show

Best Actress

Nora Aunor – Taklub
Anika Dolonius – Apocalypse
WINNER: LJ Reyes – Anino sa Likod ng Buwan
Angeli Bayani – Iisa
Alessandra de Rossi – Bambanti
Ces Quesada – Imbisibol
Jennylyn Mercado – Walang Forever
Mercedes Cabral – Da Dog Show

Supporting Actor

Julio Diaz – Taklub
Lou Veloso – Taklub
Tirso Cruz III – Honor Thy Father
JM de Guzman – Imbisibol
WINNER: Bernardo Bernardo – Imbisibol
Micko Laurente – Bambanti
RK Bagatsing – Apocalypse Child
Alion Ibanez – Da Dog Show

Supporting Actress

Rio Locsin – Iisa
WINNER: Ana Abad Santos – Apocalypse Child
Gwen Zamora – Apocalypse Child
Mylene Dizon – Heneral Luna
Tessie Tomas – Water Lemon
Liza Dino – Toto
Cecil Yumol – ARI: My Life with a King


Da Dog Show – Ralston Jover, Sans Cinema, Germany/Queen B Prod
Heneral Luna – Henry Francia, E.A Rocha, Jerrold Tarog
Taklub – Honeylyn Joy Alipio
Anino sa Likod ng Buwan – Jun Lana
Honor Thy Father – Michicko Yamamoto
Imbisibol – Herlyn Gail Alegre, John Paul Bedia
WINNER: Ari: My Life with a King – Robby Tantingco
Water Lemon – Lilit Reyes
Dayang Asu – Bor Ocampo
Bambanti – Zig Madamba Dulay


Da Dog Show – Carlo Mendoza
WINNER: Heneral Luna – Pong Ignacio
Taklub – Odyssey Flores
Anino sa Likod ng Buwan – Carlo Mendoza
Honor Thy Father – Ber Cruz
Apocalypse Child – Ike Avellana
Bambanti – Joseph Delos Reyes, Ma. Solita Garcia
Felix Manalo – Rody Lacap

Production Design

Da Dog Show – Deans Habal
Bambanti – Gian Gianan
Winner: Water Lemon – Ben Payumo
Honor Thy Father – Ericson Navarro
Felix Manalo – Jeol Bilbao, Edgar Martin Littaua, Danny Red
Bukod Kang Pinagpala – harley Alcasid
Imbisibol – Lawrence Fajardo, Roland Inocencio


Da Dog Show – Kats Serraon
WINNER: Heneral Luna – Jerrold Tarog
Taklub – Diego Marx Dobles
Anino sa Likod ng Buwan – Lawrence Ang
Honor Thy Father – Jay Halili
Imbisibol – Lawrence Fajardo
ARI: My Life with a King – Carlo Francisco Manatad


Water Lemon – Alessandra de Rossi
Henereal Luna – Jerrold Tarog
Taklub – Diwa de Leon
Honor Thy Father – Erwin Romulo
WINNER: ARI: My Life with a King – Jake Abella


WINNER: Heneral Luna – Mikko Quizon
Taklub – Paulito Homillano, Andrew Milallos, Dennis Payumo, Addiss Tabong
Anino sa Likod ng Buwan – Albert Michael Idioma
Honor Thy Father – Mikko Quizon
Dayang Asu – Stephen Lopez, Sheka Ong
Felix Manalo – Albert Michael Idioma
ARI: My Life with a King – Gilbert Obispo
Da Dog Show – Mark Locsin

Best short film: Wawa

Best Documentary Film: The Crescent Rising

Natatanging Gawad Urian: Romy Vitug



You might also like: